Match Preview: Canberra Royals v Tuggeranong Vikings

· John I Dent Cup
by Brumbies Media

Grand-Final day, where lifelong memories are made, where the scars of battle will linger forever, a day where players become legends for their clubs.

This may be a 2018 Grand-Final rematch, but the route to this Premiership decider has been very different. Many challenged, Owls and Eagles made waves, but in the end, it’s the two modern powerhouses who will take to the field today; Canberra Royals and the defending Champions, Tuggeranong Vikings.

The Rivalry

At this point, we have to redirect you to this article on from Matt Cleary.

This piece perfectly encapsulates just HOW big this rivalry is. Read that, then come back to our preview.

Team News

The defending champions Vikings have been forced into a couple massive changes for the decider with stars Vunipola Fifita and Len Ikitau ruled out through injury.

Veteran Sione Taula starts at loosehead in Fifita’s place while a rejigged backline sees Andrew Robinson shift to 13 with Ernest Suavai retruning to the side on the left wing.

Vikings also benefit from the return of Angus Allen to the starting pack with Tom Watego dropping to the bench, his presence off the pine could be crucial. Royals on the other hand have a reasonably clean bill of health with Will Morrison and talisman Ben Johnston fit to start.

For full team news download THE STAMPEDE HERE.

Head To Head – Rolando v Lonergan

Easy choice here. The battle of the halves may decide the game. Royals Pedro Rolando and Vikings are the linchpin of their sides, not only being the most crucial playmaker but also kicking goals.

Whoever wins this battle, will go a long way to getting their team over the line.

2019 Meetings

Take a look above at the highlights from all of the meetings between Royals and Vikings.

And......why not? Here's the 2018 Grand-Final!


Live on Brumbies Rugby – Facebook or the link below. 


Matthew Hogan

Match Details

Saturday17 August 2019

Royals v Vikings

(Viking Park, Erindale, 15.25pm AEST)