Macpherson leads the way as 10 Brumbies selected in Australian Under 20s

Tue, Jun 11, 2024, 5:30 AM

The Safeguard Global ACT Brumbies are excited to announce that 10 members of the clubs academy have been selected for the Australian Under 20's to contest the World Rugby U20 Championship 2024 in South Africa.

Leading out the side as captain will be lock Toby Macpherson, with number nine Dan Nelson to follow closely behind as the vice-captan.

John I Dent Cup side Gungahlin Eagles will boast three representatives with Tevita Alatini, Kadin Pritchard and Jack Harley all lining up for the side. Also providing three players of their own is the Canberra Royals through backs Jarrah McLeod and Angus Staniforth joining vice-captain Nelson in the side.

Rounding out the Brumbies representatives in the side is Harvey Cordukes, Shane Wilcox and Lington Leli.

The players will assemble in Sydney next week to finalise preparations before departing for Cape Town. Australia will face Georgia, Ireland and Italy in the U20 Championship pool stage, kicking off on 29 June. "We've selected an exciting group of players who have been delivering impressive performances for their club sides over the last few weeks," Australia U20 head coach Nathan Grey said. "The opportunity for these young men to now come together and represent Australia on the world stage is truly special. "What awaits us in Cape Town is a formidable challenge, starting with our three pool opponents in Georgia, Italy and Ireland. "However we're prepared and ready to embrace that challenge." Grey's coaching team has been bolstered by the inclusion of former Wallabies Matt Cockbain and Ben Mowen, who will serve alongside Shannon Fraser as assistant coaches in Cape Town. The U20 Championship represents the pinnacle of international age-group Rugby and is renowned for providing the game's future stars with a platform to shine before reaching Test level.

The full draw for the tournament is available here.

Australia U20 Championship Squad:

ACT Brumbies                                    

Tevita Alatini - Gungahlin Eagles

Harvey Cordukes - Uni-Norths Owls

Toby Macpherson – Uni-Norths Owls

Jarrah McLeod – Canberra Royals

Dan Nelson – Canberra Royals

Angus Staniforth – Canberra Royals

Shane Wilcox - Tuggeranong Vikings

Jack Harley - Gungahlin Eagles

Lington Ieli - Tuggeranong Vikings

Kadin Pritchard - Gungahlin Eagles

Melbourne Rebels         

Ottavio Tuipulotu - Eastern Suburbs Rugby Club

Australian Sevens

Aden Ekanayake – Gordon Rugby Club

Queensland Reds                          

Nick Bloomfield – Easts Rugby Club

Frankie Goldsbrough - Easts Brisbane

Trevor King – Souths Rugby Club Brisbane

Harry McLaughlin-Phillips – Souths Rugby Club Brisbane

Dominic Thygesen - University of Queensland

William McCulloch - Norths Brisbane

NSW Waratahs

Jack Barrett – Randwick Rugby Club

Ben Di Staso – Eastern Suburbs

Bryn Edwards - Sydney University

Ollie McCrea – Eastern Suburbs Rugby Club

Archie Saunders – Warringah Rugby Club

Eamon Doyle - Sydney University

Hwi Sharples - Sydney University

Joe Dillon - Manly Marlins

Oniti Finau - Randwick Rugby Club

Western Force            

Boston Fakafanua - Sydney University

Ronan Leahy - Sydney University

Dane Sawers – Kalamunda Districts Rugby Union Club

Wests Lions v Queanbeyan Whites Match Highlights: John I Dent Cup Round 12
Wests complete fairytale comeback over Queanbeyan
Otto Wrakonei of the Wests Lions, photo by Lachlan Lawson Photography.
John I Dent Cup Team Lists: Round 12
Meredith "excited for the challenge" against Queanbeyan as Wests aim for revenge