Meredith and Namositava take top honours at End of Season Awards

Mon, Sep 11, 2023, 10:57 PM
ACT Brumbies Media
by ACT Brumbies Media
Photo: ACT Brumbies Media
Photo: ACT Brumbies Media

Wests playmaker Declan Meredith claimed the BentSpoke John I Dent Cup top award on Monday night with the 24-year-old being named MacDougall Medallist for 2023.


Despite ACT Brumbies Super Rugby commitments, Meredith led McDougall standings from the front, scoring 141 points this season, being named in the Team of the Season and the Elimination Semi-Final Player of the Match.


Meredith said: “It’s quite an honour to receive this award, it just reflects on the season we’ve had as a team.


“It’s been a good year for Wests as a whole and it’s great to be recognised against the other quality players who play in the competition.


“It’s been a big year of footy, but I couldn’t have done it without my teammates around me, so hats off to them as well. It’s been quite a good year and one to remember for sure.”


Fijiana Drua and Fiji international tighthead prop Mereoni Namositava took home the BentSpoke Premier 15s top award, the Louise Ferris Medal, in her first year in the competition.


Namositava was dominant amongst the pack, scoring 14 tries this season and a total of 72 points, runner up as both leading point and try scorer.


Safeguard Global ACT Brumbies Competitions & Rugby Services Manager Mat Vowles said: “A massive congratulations are in order to all of our award recipients, whether playing, coaching, managing or volunteering, everyone has committed a lot of time and effort this season.


“It’s great to be able to recognise the individual and team efforts across the ACT, South Coast and Monaro regions, as our competition continues to grow and strengthen.


“Declan and Mereoni were outstanding this season and are both thoroughly deserving of their individual accolades. We hope they enjoy a well-deserved off season and look forward to seeing them on the park again next year.”





MacDougall Medallist: DECLAN MEREDITH (Wests Lions)

Louise Ferris Medallist: MEREONI NAMOSITAVA (Wests Lions)

Michael Hickey Memorial Trophy - Coach of the Year: LACHLAN MCCAFFREY (Gungahlin Eagles)

The John Hunter Memorial Trophy - Highest Try Scorer: LACHLAN DAVIS (Tuggeranong Vikings) (16 tries)

Premier Women’s Highest Try Scorer: APRIL DOWNEY (Gungahlin Eagles) (15 tries)

The Gus Vallance Memorial Trophy - Highest Points Scorer: JOSIAH LEALIIFANO (Tuggeranong Vikings) (147 points)

Premier Women’s Highest Point Scorer: APRIL DOWNEY (Gungahlin Eagles) & SIENA EDWARDS (Tuggeranong Vikings) (77 pts)

Dr. R. W. Smethills Perpetual Trophy – Outstanding Player in the Grand Final: ISAAC CROWE (Gungahlin Eagles)

The Tommy Byrne Memorial Trophy - ACT Rep Player of the Year: JOSH TOWNSEND (Queanbeyan Whites)


Bill Priest Trophy - Monaro Rep Player of the Year: LIAM PEPPER (Jindabyne Bushpigs)

Monaro Women’s Rep Player of the Year: JORDAN BROOKER (Goulburn Dirty Reds)

First Division Best & Fairest Player of the Year: MIKAEL WEBBER (Goulburn Dirty Reds)

Second Division Best & Fairest Player of the Year: JOSHUA BRAIN (Hall Bushrangers)


The Anderson Trophy - for Sportsmanship: JACKIE VANDENBERG (Canberra Royals)

The HS Quinn Trophy - for Services to Rugby: MARCUS CALDWELL (Cooma Red Devils)

The Peter Lawler Trophy - Referee of the Year: NATHAN MASS

The ACT & SNSW RU Volunteer of the Year – Winner: ANTHONY DAVIES (Tuggeranong Vikings)

Community Coach of the Year – Winner: ANGUS BALMAKS (Queanbeyan Whites)

Monaro 1st Division Club Championship: TUGGERANONG VIKINGS

Premier Division Club Championship – The Turner Cup: TUGGERANONG VIKINGS

Bob Hitchcock Territory Shield: TUGGERANONG VIKINGS