Revealed: 2020 John I Dent Cup draw

· John I Dent Cup
by Brumbies Media

The draw for the 2020 John I Dent Cup season has been confirmed, with an exciting batch of round one fixtures set for Saturday 28 March.

In its 82nd season, the opening weekend of the ACT and Southern NSW’s premier club rugby competition will see 2019 runners-up, Tuggeranong Vikings take on Easts at Viking Park while Wests face a trip to Queanbeyan to get their campaign underway.

Vikings’ clash with Easts will also see the Bob Hitchcock Territory Shield up for grabs, Tuggeranong having held the honour courtesy of their victory over Royals late last season.

2019 premiers, Royals will have to wait for round two to get their title defence going, as will the Gungahlin Eagles and Uni-Norths Owls.

Royals and Vikings will meet for the first time in round seven, a rematch of their battle in the championship decider last season which went down to the wire, with the Blue Baggers holding on for a famous victory.

Action in the Women’s division will begin on the 4th of April, with the competition being contested by six teams over 15 rounds.

Goulburn will make the leap to the premier competition following their successful season in the Women’s 10s competition last year.

The 10s tournament will also see six sides competing in 2020, with Yass and Jindabyne joining the competition which kicks off on the 18th of April, the Grand-Final being played as a curtain raiser to the South Coast Monaro 2nd division decider.

That competition will get underway on the 18th of April, last year’s Grand-Final combatants Crookwell and Taralga kicking off the season.

The First Division competition will again be contested by 12 teams in both 1st and 2nd grade and will kick off on the 28th of March, the season concluding with both Grand-Finals on the 15th of August.

See here for full draws for all competitions.